Double Deceit by Julienne Brouwers – Review.

About The Book

Jennifer is a young mother, married to a hotshot lawyer and living in Amsterdam. Her world explodes when her husband is found dead at a holiday park during a weekend getaway. Convinced that the police have failed in their investigation, she embarks on a desperate quest for the truth – but the deeper she digs, the more she gets enmeshed in a tangled web of lies, spun by a ruthless law firm. 
As Jennifer’s search for answers intensifies, her grip on reality weakens. Barely able to manage her patients at the health clinic, or take care of her young son, Jennifer is at risk of losing it all – even her closest friends begin to desert her. And then a chance encounter with a charming stranger sparks a new chain of events that plunges her deeper into a world of threats and corruption. Soon, she begins to fear for her life – but who can she trust, and how far will she go in pursuit of the truth?
This is a gripping, addictive thriller for fans of Angela Clarke, Mel Sherratt and Rachel Lynch, that will make you question everything, including the flaws of forensics. Could we all be framed for a murder we didn’t commit?

My Review

With thanks to the publisher for the copy received. Jennifer’s life falls apart when her husband dies in what initially appears a tragic accident whilst they are having a short break away. But when she receives his possessions from the police and hears some slightly disturbing details she wants to find out what more about her husband’s life before he died. 

But she is unprepared for what she finds and despite it causing arguments with her close friends, issues at work and the police taking no notice she won’t stop delving and places herself and her young son in danger.

I enjoyed this book, it was slightly different with most of the focus being on Jennifer instead of the police. You saw the effect her searching had on her, the guilt at not being able to commit to her job and her upset at alienating her friends. There was also her attempts to try and create a normal life for her son. Because of this she came across as a real person and this is more than just a crime fiction novel. 

I also enjoyed my visit to Amsterdam,I had a clear image of what it was like to live in a city that was full of tourists but it described little of the places to see. This could have come across as strange but instead it showed that to the characters concerned it was  their everyday lives. 

I would read books again by this author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: