Claymore Straker’s Journey – Absolution – Paul Hardisty.


Today it is my pleasure to finish a week of blog posts that have highlighted the Claymore Straker series by Paul Hardisty that is published by Orenda. Other posts appeared on


ON this final day Paul will tell you about the most recent book in the series. I will show the synopsis first.

About the Book

Sequel to the critically acclaimed The Abrupt Physics of Dying, The Evolution of Fear and Reconciliation for the Dead. Claymore Straker returns in another gripping, page-turning, socially conscious thriller, with more at stake than ever…

It is 1997, eight months since vigilante justice-seeker Claymore Straker fled South Africa after his explosive testimony to Desmond Tutu’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission. In Paris, Rania LaTour, journalist, comes home to find that her son and her husband, a celebrated human rights lawyer, have disappeared. On an isolated island off the coast of East Africa, the family that Clay has befriended is murdered as he watches.

So begins the fourth instalment in the Claymore Straker series, a breakneck journey through the darkest reaches of the human soul, as Clay and Rania fight to uncover the mystery behind the disappearances and murders, and find those responsible.

Events lead them both inexorably to Egypt, where an act of the most shocking terrorist brutality will reveal not only why those they loved were sacrificed, but how they were both, indirectly, responsible. Relentlessly pursued by those who want them dead, they must work together to uncover the truth, and to find a way to survive in a world gone crazy. At times brutal, often lyrical, but always gripping, Absolution is a thriller that will leave you breathless and questioning the very basis of how we live and why we love.

 Guest Post

For the fourth and latest Straker novel, I wanted to give Rania her own voice, without altering the essential point of view narrative of the rest of the series. I use Rania’s own words to tie together the plot threads from the previous three novels. Absolution opens with Clay on a lonely island near Zanzibar, on the coast of East Africa. His explosive testimony in South Africa has awakened old enemies, the inevitable consequence of fighting the establishment and telling the truth. The young family he has befriended on the island are murdered as he watches, unable to help. Meanwhile, ten thousand kilometres away in Paris, Rania returns home to find her husband and young son have disappeared. Events lead them both to Cairo, where their destinies converge in the cauldron of modern terrorism, greed, crushing poverty, and appalling pollution. Again, the action is based on real events, both historical and autobiographical, and as before, I bet that you won’t see what’s coming until it hits you. A big chunk of the book was written in Egypt.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: